Fashion · Life

My graduation

For the past 3 years I’ve lived and studied in Oxford and it has become somewhere I refer to as home, but all good things must come to an end! This chapter of my life has finished in the best possible way I could imagine… with a 1st. For those of you who don’t know much about me I read Equine Science, which is the study of the anatomy and physiology of horses with some business aspects thrown in there as well. I know what you’re thinking, thats pretty complicated- my mother explains it the best to people…

 “Imagine veterinary without the surgery”. 

Which isn’t a lie, we’ve grown to understand all of the fundamental aspects that make horses tick. 

But what can career can I aspire to? To be honest the degree is probably more employable than marketing or business. For example horse racing is noted as being one of the most followed sports in the United Kingdom, as well as being renowned for worldwide in countries such a France, USA, Australia and Dubai…

 Most of my fellow students are continuing their academic career by pursing a path in Veterinary Medicine or undertaking a masters. For the others such as myself who are sick of the academic world (more importantly the Harvard referencing) you can jump straight into a job or graduate scheme.  

Fortunately I was lucky to get a job with Godolphin Horse Racing in Australia starting in August. If you’re not a race-goer Godolphin is like the Ferrari of the horse world- I know I’m still in shock I managed it! 

But enough of that lets get back to graduation…

So my graduation took place on the 21st June 2017, which also happened to be the hottest day since 1976. The ceremony itself was very short and sweet, the room was draped head to toe in white fabric which made it appear rather classy- with the added bonus of AC being provided, ensuring we didn’t all melt like the Wicked Witch of The West! Overall the duration of the ceremony lasted 45 minutes with us all collecting our scrolls on stage and then a few speeches. 

 

Followed by drinks and canapés in the Great Hall…

 

Due to the limited tickets per person the whole Powis mafia couldn’t come, so in the end my Father, Mother and Grandfather all attended- All looking rather dapper if I do say!

 

Knowing what dress and shoes to wear is every girls biggest worry – well that and not tripping over your heels on stage! After looking at some of my friends photos from their graduation it was pretty obvious most girls opted for white and red dresses (outfit research is key!). Therefore I opted for a baby blue laced dress, I knew I wanted a self portrait inspired dress but for a cheaper price tag…

My Outfit:

Pretty Little Thing – Kymmie Dusty Blue Lace High Neck Midi Dress £45.00

Office – Finley Block Heel Sandals Blue Nubuck £59.99

You’ve got to have the obligatory mortarboard throw photograph…

All of the gals!

 

Leave a Reply

